Skip to content

Free-range Thoughts

Marinating in the Mooc

Following up on my previous post, I am reporting in on my great progress. I have registered 6 domains and now have three hosted; one is live this hour.

www.spazmunkee.com is a dj site for my son who is a professional musician.  I used the Dreamhost one-click to install a wordpress structure for the site. I’ve spent quite a few hours this weekend learning how to use wordpress. Still a long ways to go. BTW: I highly recommend Lynda.com for advanced technical lessons. In fact, I would consider them the gold standard for great just-in-time learning.

This may or may not be relevant to the PLEK12 course, but this is exactly what happens when I join a mooc. Opportunities and options abound and the ones that call strongest to me get acted upon. Sometimes these actions take me in directions I can never never predict. These directions I suspect have a large tacit dimension, a concept I am struggling to get my mind around.

I also read a great article this weekend by Marc Prensky:  The Reformers Are Leaving Our Schools in the 20th Century. He touches on many subjects concerning the current reform movement. But I was struck by the bold assertion that some subjects must be subtracted from the curriculum, notably the 1,000 year old content body of geometry. Quite a radical paper. I highly recommend it.

Tags: ,

