Skip to content

Free-range Thoughts

Marinating in the Mooc

For my PLEK12 topic I have chosen to investigate the theoretical foundations of PLEs for education because I don’t believe in letting the PLE tail wave the proverbial education dog. It’s much too easy to follow the latest tech fad. (Remember when TV was going to change education? Then videos? Then laser-discs, Then CDRoms?)  So recently I have been very interested in exploring the fact that technology is actually catching up to how humans have always learned.  If a PLE is more in tune with how we humans a predisposed to learn, then I want to explore that and conduct a literature review.

Kevin Kelly, WIRED mag editor says

Extrapolated, technology wants what life wants: increasing efficiency, opportunity, emergence, complexity, diversity, specialization, ubiquity, freedom, mutualism, beauty, sentience, structure, evolvability

I predict the most sustainable technological arrangements will be those manifestations that tend toward the greatest increases in diversity, sentience, opportunity, mutuality, etc. [list above]

I hope to uncover literature that backs up assertions such as these. More to come later.

Tags:

