Skip to content

Free-range Thoughts

Marinating in the Mooc

Diigo:

I decided back in 2009 to commit to using Diigo as my primary knowledge center. In Oct. 2010 I presented at a conference on the affordances of Diigo. I twittered out the slidedeck link a few days ago. I continue to refine how I use Diigo and am invested enough in it to pay the $40 yearly fee. I use it everyday. At this point if I lost it, it would be disasterous. Also noteworthy, I will mention that I have a little insider information on their future roadmap (sorry can’t be specific) and there is ample reason to dig in for the long haul and use Diigo.  Weakness: citation support.

My topic is already amply represented in Diigo links because of the PLENK10 mooc, so it will be a matter of sifting through all that content to mine the data. With Diigo I was able to capture parts of the PLENK to follow up with later, as I now will do for my topic. So efficient !!

PS: Don’t forget to join the PLE-12 group in Diigo so we can all share resources.

Zotero:

Now this is a program I have been meaning to explore. However I am stymied by the fact that I cannot load the toolbar in Firefox since I refuse to use an old browser version. Nevertheless I will keep exploring in order to figure out how best to integrate this tool into my larger Diigo framework for organizing. Diigo isn’t good at citations as far as I know.  If anyone has ideas about the Zotero toolbar… shout out on Twitter.

Evernote:

I have  been very interested in exploring this program as well although at this point since I am so invested in Diigo it would be unlikely I would switch.

NoodleTools:

I just purchased a site license for our school so all of our students are using NoodleTools. This was a faculty request and it was relatively inexpensive. NoodleTools is primarily a citation, note-taking application, and not a bookmarking web-clipping application.

Tags:

