Skip to content

Free-range Thoughts

Marinating in the Mooc

Remix Video Thoughts
The fertile ground of creativity is copying? And I thought it was just me. You mean everyone works this way? Whew. And I love that Hunter Thompson retyped the Great Gatsby to get the feel for being a great novelist. When you think about it for more than a second, it’s clear why it would work. If you stuff your sub-conscious with your passion, of course it will eventually bubble out.e

The path to creativity is failure as we discovered in the video: Thomas Edison tried 6,000 times to create a light bulb that would become commercially viable. Who has that kind of tenacity? It is humbling.

Steven Johnson says much the same things in his book “Where Good Ideas Come From” which I recently read. These ideas are chipping away at the very concept of individual creator.  But, we are just kicking little ice crystals off the tip of the iceberg I believe.

Tags:

