Skip to content

Free-range Thoughts

Marinating in the Mooc

Change2011: My Goals
I am following the broad evolution of education reform and my goal for Change 2011 is to push forward my knowledge in all of the broad areas of education (especially the implications for libraries)  as well as find new arcs of progress and thinking. I never know where this broad goal will take me. And that is the beauty of marinating in the madness. You never know where your interests will take you. Just as you can never define the future.

The PLENK10 mooc took me down an unexpected road (and not without some trauma, I might add). I am a Librarian as you may have guessed. After months of marinating in the mooc content, I came to a startling new direction for libraries. Taking the user-centered library to the extreme you get this:

The library of the future will be the one you make for yourself.

It’s a very risky declaration to make from a professional standpoint, yet I know I’m on the right track when non-Librarians “get it” immediately. Librarians have had a hard time acknowledging that users now have access to huge stores of knowledge. Since fleshing out the framework of this thinking, I have made several presentations at professional conferences which explain the thinking behind this rather provocative declaration. This does not mean institutional libraries go away. Rather institutional libraries become nodes in one’s personal learning environments. It can be no other way as the gift of http is that users now define their own paths through information. No longer are we shackled to the linear. The internet is an end-to-end, read/write system and fast becoming a social OS. No longer is the size of our personal book shelf limited by physical reality or the size of our wallets. Diigo is my new personal “book” shelf existing within my highly social PLE.

So just being open to what everyone has to share in Change11 is my goal. It doesn’t mean I will pursue everything. But my tacit instincts will guide me.

Tags: ,

