Skip to content

Free-range Thoughts

Marinating in the Mooc

otto

It’s been awhile!

I  write when I am completely inspired and enthusiastic about something. And today I am.  I found my way to Otto Scharmer’s MIT mooc: Transforming Business, Society and Self. It’s been terrific. I had Otto’s Theory U book on my shelf for a year or two, maybe since the Pegasus Systems Thinking conference came to Seattle. Faced with the flu and being in bed for days, I finally grabbed Theory U. Alas in my weak condition, I was too weak to hold up this big tome.

The ipad was more manageable if I propped it up against a pillow. So investigating Otto, I found my way to the MITcourse, and haven’t looked back. We are in Week 4 (5? if you count week 0). 26,000+ people have joined and we are dividing out into coaching circles using the Presencing Institute’s platform. Our recommended text is Leading from the Emerging Future by Otto Scharmer.

